Of Fashion and Shoes

Modern Family is the greatest show I’ve seen in quite a while. My girlfriend and I have watched and rewatched this series a million times. Right from the beginning, the story is captivating, engaging and outright funny. Something about a modern white family and all the drama that can emerge from this setting makes this show the best. (Well, and of course Phil Dunphy yo!).

Now to my post. Fashion. Before deciding to share this post with you, I asked myself what fashion is. Fashion in a very loose definition means ‘trending’. What’s trending in the clothes industry, the jewellery industry, automobile, communication, etc. When you have the trending item in the particular entity, you are in fashion.

I have been a very fashion conscious mudu since I was a kid. I remember the very first time I discovered ‘three quarter’ shorts, I put them on with a red jacket and LA Gear shoes. I topped that with white socks that had red and blue stripes on them, visible from my ankle-high shoes but low enough for you to see some skin, a few inches below where my shorts reached. I’d never felt so confident in my life.

la gear

My white LA Gear shoes came right after some fancy ankle-high Nike ones that had protrusions along the sides. I use to wear them all the time. When my LA Gear issue came along, I missed the Nikes so much I tried to redesign them by drawing the Nike logo on both side-soles, identically with my Bic pen. I got carried away though, and had adidas, reebok and fubu, wow, and even Karl Kani drawn too. It was a long time ago, don’t judge me! That’s more or less where my love for fashion and shoes started.

karl kani

When matatus were matatus and not glorified mkokotenis, when people actually took time, effort and money to soup up their cars, there was this ride in Buruburu 58 (five eight) that had fubu written on it. It’s still a very vivid memory. The way fubu was artistically designed on it and the ground shaking woofer that the thing had, was out of this world. I didn’t have money to take matatus then and used to walk all the way to my primary school in Buru Phase 5. Every time it passed by me, I stopped and admired it until it disappeared around the corner. It’s sheer beauty mesmerised me every day.

I do believe that for a great attire combination and for you to be fashionable in the clothes industry, you have to start with the shoes and work your way up. Shoes, trouser/pants, t-shirt/shirt and finally head attire, caps and what have yous. Even if your t-shirt and/or shirt and your trousers are ‘off the hook’ and you’ve got the wrong shoes, you’ll be off.

It comes without saying, depending on your geographical orientation, that people are different and that one man’s fashion may not be the next person’s. As an individual therefore, I go for comfort. What I feel most comfortable in is what I’ll wear. If you feel that by wearing that blue Pele jeans, you can walk into any social gathering and feel like you are ‘killing it’, go for it.

'No, wearing  your tie outside your jumper does not count as 'smart casual'.'

Everyone has their own eye for fashion. Some of course have talent and everything they wear turns out to look great on them. In the end, it comes down to how you mix and match those different colours and designs. Blood red socks wouldn’t be so bad if you matched them with light grey or white shoes and a white t-shirt. Just make sure you have at least a speck of red somewhere else in your attire. Above all, be adventurous and open to trying new things in life.

#Logos courtesy of LA Gear shoes and Karl Kani

#Cartoon courtesy of cordell:cartoonstock.com

Leave a comment